Help: Looking for Kindergarten crush

I have already told you the story of the first time I said “I love you” to somebody. Here is something that is slightly cuter in nature: the story of my very first crush (that I remember).

Before I launch into the story proper, I just want to explain why I decided to write about this. My cousin, Jessica, happened to be involved in a small school bus love triangle when she was in Kindergarten. I don’t know all the details, but these two boys definitely fought for her attention, and one of them gave her a ring and promised to marry her in the future. At any rate, almost twenty years later, she ran into this same boy again – completely by chance! – and they have been dating since.

For me, finding this first crush isn’t about looking for a relationship; it is partly about finding another link to my childhood, partly a social experiment, and partly to see if she remembers me as well. Anyways, on with the short story.

Like many children my age, I went to nursery and Kindergarten years at a school called Kinderland in Marine Parade, Singapore. As a child, I was…how do I put this…much less restrained than I am now. According to my mother, I would chat incessantly with anybody and everybody, and I would have no qualms about hugging boys, girls, men, women, strangers, teachers, etc. I was, and still am, an equal opportunity chatter and hugger. My mother got several phone calls home from almost every teacher I ever had up until the fourth grade about how I turned every quiet person I sat next to into a chatterbox!

Anyway, it was Kindergarten year 2, so I was about 5. Georgina (yes, actually her real name; no, I don’t know her last name) always sat next to me and stood next to me in photographs (I’ll update this post once I find them). She let me hug her and kiss her (on the cheek!), and we talked about everything 5 year olds talked about. When we were learning fractions, we would shake up a cup of kidney beans that were red on one side and white on the other and count the proportions; we would always flip our own beans to make sure our beans matched. Oh, and I’m pretty sure that I said that we were going to get married several times, and she didn’t run screaming in the opposite direction. Kids, right? I don’t remember much else, but I still have a very strong impression of her in my memory.

Through the miracle of the Internet and social media, you hear stories about how people find long-lost friends and family. Here is where you come in: if you know someone, or know someone that knows someone, named Georgina who attended Kinderland, Marine Parade, at some point between 1991 and 1993, please show them this! I am really curious about the extent of my network.

Let’s see if you can help me with this. Let’s see if you can help the two children who always had the same proportion of red and white beans when they were learning fractions.

Image from GourmetStore.com

One thought on “Help: Looking for Kindergarten crush

  1. HAHAHHAHAHA man I feel sorry for you… it’s much easier for me since I came from Soka Kindergarten… Then again I don’t remember hugging or kissing any boy then HAHAHAHAHA tsk

Leave a Comment